Meat Pies

Jackie brought me to Top Nosh Cafe about a month ago with the promise of delicious meat pies for brunch, and it did not disappoint. I’ve been back a couple of times since and the mood struck again this past Saturday. Top Nosh is located in the somewhat trendy Willow Glen neighborhood in San Jose. I have heard of Top Nosh prior to my initial visit however. They normally have booths in the local farmer’s markets I frequent (Sunnyvale, Mountain View, etc.) hawking frozen pies. Having the pies fresh makes quite a difference, but the frozen pies are quite satisfying in a pinch.

This is one of those order at the counter and they will bring it out to you establishments, but it feels more full service then that.  I believe the place is family-run and you can feel the care the put into it.  My favorite seat is at the long table, and it feels like I’m in somebody big bright dining room.

Funky Lights Over the Long Dining Table

The menu is simple, pies, salad, breakfast, coffee.  I am missing the part of the the pastries and I wish I had taken a picture of them.  Their pastry case looks absolutely delectable and I have yet to try anything from it.  In fact, I have yet to sample all of the beautiful pies they serve.  I look up at the board and I just want one of each.

Menu Board

Their coffe is dripped by the cup.  Which, in my humble opinion, should be the way to brew every cup of coffee.  One of the things that might confuse people who are not coffee nuts like I am is that you can choose your bean.  Jon had a cup of their Brazil Serra Do Bone and it smelled really good.

Fresh single cup brew organic Brazil Serra Do Bone

Since I have only been there for brunch I always order their cappuccino.  If they didn’t have pies, I would still go back just for the espresso.

Cappuccino

The pies come out in their unassuming flaky packages….

Flaky Pie Crust

When you split it open the steaming hot contents assaults your senses and all you want to do is stuff your face in it.  It is amazing how eggs, cheddar, and chives blends together into something you want to wake up to every morning.

Breakfast Pie

I decided it’s high time that I order a salad and went with my usual.  The half salad is piled high with fresh mixed greens topped with thin fuji apple slices, Point Reyes blue cheese, crunchy caramelized pecan, and a light vinaigrette.  I can make a meal out of that.

Half Salad - Apple Walnut Mix Greens

Our savory pies are just good.  The Wild and Woodsy Pie is made with wild mushrooms and gruyere.

Wild and Woodsy Pie

The To Thai For pie is made with chicken, yam, and coconut curry.

To Thai For Pie

The light and flaky crust wraps around ingredients that you would not expect to be in a pie.  The pie fillings themselves would make a good meal any time.  All the ingredients are paired and seasoned perfectly.  They are so comforting that I want to wrap my arms around them and hug them close.  It just feels like home.

I realize I need to venture out and try the other items on the list.  They do serve breakfast items on the weekend and I feel like I should try out their french toast and pastry.  But I’m getting very attached to my “usual” pie and salad combo with my cappuccino. I don’t think I can pinpoint what exactly people should order, I just think everything on the menu is good.  Just go with the flow, order what you like, try everything.  With more then 10 pies on the menu, you can try a couple at a time.  I think a year ago when I was a larger person I can probably polish off 3 of them at a meal with no problem.  But these pies are made to be savored and it deserves the respect it commands.  I can’t wait for my next visit.

Leave a Reply

