My Good Eats Part 1

Since my move to Houston, Texas I have been cooking up a storm. I am basically in the kitchen every night throwing some thing together. I love cooking, and now that I have a reason to cook more I have been experimenting a lot. One of the dishes I experimented with was baked macaroni and cheese, and I know this is an oldie but I did some fun things to the recipe.

Tater tots! Who doesn’t love tater tots, and if you do hate them go see a doctor. We had some leftover from the previous night and I decided to do something with them.

Basic recipe for baked macaroni

1 1/2 cups of Elbow macaroni

2 1/2 cups of Sharp chedder

1 1/4 cup of Milk

2 tablespoons Butter

Bring a pot water to a boil with a pinch of salt and a bit of olive oil. While the macaroni is boiling take a sauce pan and place your butter and milk to medium heat. Take the sharp cheddar and shred or dice it, then place it in the sauce pan. Be sure to stir as the cheese starts to melt, so it will be melted evenly. Check the macaroni it should be al dente after about 5-7 mins  of boiling. Then take the sauce and the strained macaroni together. Make sure the oven is preheated at 450 degrees. Now here is where things get fun!

I took:

2 cups of diced tater tots

1 1/2 cups of diced roama tomatoes

1 cup of diced bacon

Pinch of pepper for seasoning

2 cups of shredded sharp cheddar

Take the macaroni and the sauce mixture and add the other ingredients (except for the shredded cheddar) slowly while mixing to make sure its evenly distributed.  Once its mixed get a container to bake it in I normally use Pyrex for this. Pour the mixture into the pan smoothing it out for even spacing on the top. Take the shredded cheddar and sprinkle it over the top to cover the macaroni nicely. Place the dish in the oven for 10 mins or until the cheese is melted to a nice golden brown. Make sure to let the dish set after you take it out of the oven 5 ish mins should do. Now serve and enjoy!

I plan on making this dish again soon so I will upload some photos for this when I can!

One thought on “My Good Eats Part 1

Leave a Reply

