Orenchi

Orenchi, oh Orenchi…. What can I say about you… You are like crack, this is probably the closest I will ever feel what it’s like to be a drug addict.  I didn’t take a picture of the crowd waiting for a table, but the usual wait is oooh.. roughly an hour.  I try to get there early.

Orenchi

When you are first seated, you are faced with two little pots of “stuff” and a water pitcher.

Honey Pots?

One of the pots contains red pepper and the other is my favorite… grated garlic.  A pot of garlic!!! mmmmm….

Garlic!

We started our meals out right and went with the chicken karaage and calamari.  Both items are fresh and hot out the fryer.  The breading is light and flaky, the chicken is piping hot and juicy… I’m salivating just thinking about it.

Karaage

Calamari

Most people order the Orenchi ramen.  It comes in a rich pork broth that bathes the chewy noodles.  Topped with a tender piece of pork that melts in your mouth.  I did a little modification and added about a tablespoon of garlic into the broth.  Yes I drank every last drop.  And yes I still smell like garlic in the morning.

Modified Ramen

Here’s the little gem people keep talking about on yelp.  The perfectly cooked soft boiled egg.  When you bite into it, the yolk spills right out.  It’s beautiful.

Soft Boiled Egg

This is one of my favorite places to eat.  I really have to limit myself to only a couple of times per month.  One of the deterring factors is the huge lines.  There is no reservations, and you just have to put your name down as you get there.  The average wait time for me is about an hour.  I wouldn’t go there if I’m super hungry, but it’s worth the wait.

Leave a Reply

